Grange Court, Leominster
Grange Court is a Grade II\* listed timber-framed market hall built by John Abel in 1633.
The building has had many different functions in its near 400-year life, and every new owner has adapted the building to make it fit for their purpose.
The building originally stood at the top of Broad Street in Leominster and housed the weekly butter market, selling chickens, eggs, and butter. It was then known as the Butter Crosse.
By the mid nineteenth century, the market hall was proving a traffic hazard in the town centre. The building was dismantled and lay in pieces in a builder’s yard until 1859, when the building was bought by John Arkwright (of the spinning jenny family). It was then rebuilt on the park known as the Grange and, with some modifications, leased to the Moore family.
Grange Court remained a family home until 1939, when Leominster District Council made a compulsory purchase to save it from being dismantled and moved to South Wales to become the gatehouse to St. Donats Castle.
The Borough Council, then the District Council, and later the County Council had offices in Grange Court until 2008 when the redevelopment began to turn it into a Community, Enterprise and Heritage Hub.
Today, Grange Court is open to the public. Explore our beautiful building and walled garden.
With an on site cafe selling a selection of hot and cold drinks and food with locally produced ingredients.
- To find out more information about Grange Court, please click here to visit their website
- To visit the Grange Court Facebook page, please click here
How to find and contact us
Grange Court is located in Leominster, on Pinsley Road. Easily accessible on foot from Leominster Town Centre.
- Address: Grange Court, Pinsley Road, Leominster HR6 8NL
- Telephone: 01568 737980
- email: firstname.lastname@example.org