Eardisland Dovecote, Eardisland
The Dovecote is one of Eardisland’s most distinctive historical buildings. Its origins are probably late 17th or early 18th century, although the earliest reference to a dovecote in the village is 1469. The present building, renovated and restored in 2000, was formerly part of the Manor House estate. It now functions as an information and exhibition centre for the village on the upper floor, and since 2009 has contained the Community Shop on the ground floor.
Our 17th century dovecote is Eardisland’s focal point, it being the location of our community shop situated by the River Arrow and adjacent to the its bridge. A well laid-out garden on the river bank is a picturesque feature, offering. A tranquil setting for villagers and visitors to just sit, contemplate and watch the clear water stream by.
Upstairs, work is once more in progess as Covid 19 is further controlled. Consistent with its Heritage Centre status on OS maps, an exhibition centred on work by Eardisland’s History Group will roll out, changing layouts and artifacts at intervals to retain interest and encourage research activities. Using other space, further themes reflecting the development of the village and its population over historical periods will develop – again with changes from time to time so that interest is maintained.
The Dovecote is also HQ for Eardisland Memorial Walks, where brochure guides are available before walkers cross the road to the War Memorial start-point. Thirteen walks are included, with varying distances up to 16 miles. Of course, the building and it’s nature are of special interest for people with varying aims and objectives, its fabric being largely unchanged.
How to find us
Eardisland Dovecote is located at the heart of the village, next to the river.
- Address – Eardisland Dovecote, Eardisland, Leominster HR6 9BW